Posted by: slcsaunders | February 20, 2012

Whitney Houston: August 9, 1963 – February 11, 2012

Whitney Houston’s music is the soundtrack of the lives of so many people. So to hear Kevin Costner tell us, as he eulogized her, how she doubted herself…doubted whether she was good enough, doubted whether she was loved, doubted whether she could do it…was beyond heartbreaking.

Whitney Houston was The Voice. She was a one-in-a-million talent. She was gorgeous. And, in her words, she was a “child of God.” But she was troubled. We all knew it. And God knows we judged her. Judged her appearance, judged her voice, judged her decisions, judged her marriage, judged her parenting…judged everything about her. And in the midst of all that judging, we all hoped for a comeback that would never really come.

One of Whitney’s final studio cuts was a song called “I Didn’t Know My Own Strength”:

Survived my darkest hour, my faith kept me alive
I picked myself back up, hold my head up high
I was not built to break
I didn’t know my own strength

I thought I’d never find my way
I thought I’d never lift that weight
I thought I would break
I didn’t know my own strength

Whitney may have grown to know her own strength, but what she didn’t know, what she never learned and never believed, was that she was worth it.

Kevin Costner concluded his eulogy by saying: “Off you go, Whitney…and when you sing before Him, don’t you worry…you’ll be good enough.” And I hope that’s the lesson people, particularly her impressionable daughter, take from this tragedy: you’ve got to know you’re good enough. You’ve got to know you’re worth it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

